top of page

#FridayFailure

Updated: Apr 8, 2020

*Content warning: strong language*


The timer starts.


One.


Two.


Three.


“Ohhh s!*t! I need to slow down!” These were my thoughts during the first part of our scooter test—the straight line. Specifically, you have to balance across a ten meter strip, which is only 60 cm wide, in 7 seconds or more. If you swerve slightly out of bounds, the lights and alarm will sound, alerting you, the DMV employee, and everyone else watching you that you already made a mistake! This straight line test can be retaken once, but after that it’s deemed an automatic fail. Here’s a video of the test: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=X8rtX9Imt8M&t=38s Initially, I thought that this part of the test was unnecessary and cruel, but now I understand its importance in real-life driving. I often weave in between cars at a slow speed to reach the designated scooter area at a stoplight.



Once I hit six seconds, I felt relieved, yet still nervous because I still had the rest of the course to go. Cracking my knuckles while waiting at the fake stop light, I looked both ways before I made the “hook turn.” Bruh, it was the best hook turn I have ever made! The scooter turned swiftly, and my foot landed gracefully in the box. It was beautiful.


But the worst was yet to come: the awful lane-change, 90 degree left turn, and then quick U turn. THE STINKIN U-TURN. I swerved out of bounds and did not stop in time. The sirens began to blare, telling me that I failed. I looked over my shoulder, and saw our Fulbright coordinator ready to embrace me with a sympathetic, warm hug.


I tried to remain positive and happy for those who did pass the test. But instead, I was then embraced again by another friend, so cue the waterworks! In front of everyone at the DMV office, I just buried my face in her shoulder. Newsflash Fergie: big girls do cry… in public! I wanted to pass the test so that I could start feel settled in and break free of the bus schedule. I would have finally gained some independence and quality alone time beyond the walls of my room. Also, I just wanted to celebrate, merrily hang out, and bond with people that night. But no matter how hard I tried to fake it, I was sincerely upset with myself.

But now that I have passed my test the second time around *cue song Try Again by Aaliyah*, there were so many positive things that came out of my failure. Let me count the ways, eight to be exact, a lucky number because it “sounds like 發 fa1, the word for wealth, fortune and prosper in Chinese.”

  1. My mom didn’t have to worry about me being out on the road for that week.

  2. After I got over myself that night, my roommate gave me the cutest haircut of my life.

  3. After a couple of hours of the test, there was a group chat among us who didn’t pass called “*insert 2 diamond emojis* in the rough.” If that’s not the epitome of a great support system, I don’t know what is.

  4. I bonded with people I didn’t get to know during the month of orientation. Sometimes bitching about something is the best way to bond. LOL

  5. I saw the Fulbright Kinmen staff twice more!

  6. I practiced my Mandarin with a kind taxi driver, but I mostly said 我聽不懂。wo3 ting1 bu2 dong3. I don’t understand.

  7. I helped a friend bring her mattress pad home from the store on her little scooter. The beds here aren’t as soft as the typical beds in the States.

  8. I got to ride in the back of my roommate’s scooter and simply enjoy the ride. With the crisp wind in my face and the green scenery along the road, I was able to take everything in…like wow, I’m officially in Kinmen. This is my new home.


probs not the safest thing to do...

About the Blogger

Vanessa received a Fulbright English Teaching Assistant award to Taiwan.  This blog is her own and in no way reflects the opinions of the US Department of State, US Government, Fulbright Program, or the Taiwanese Government.

Read more.

 

Join My Mailing List

© 2023 by Going Places. Proudly created with Wix.com

  • Instagram Social Icon
bottom of page