top of page

First Haiku: with People Once Strangers

As ETAs, we write reflection/reports every two weeks on different topics given to us by our advisors. (BIG shout out to my advisor, Dominique!) The topics range from personal to professional, and I enjoy carving out reflection time during the work day. The last prompt asked us to write a poem about how we have changed since living in Taiwan. Inspired by that, I wrote my first haiku! Hope you enjoy!

i’ve never written

a love poem before, but

after being here,


it’s all i could write:

the sun, the moon, the ocean

Jinsha Junior High.


i’m wondering if

i’m infatuated, but

even if i am,


i’ve caught glimpses of

being in love with life with

people once strangers.


i’m more confident

somehow more insecure and

equally confused.


i am more grateful,

more easily annoyed, but

i laugh just the same.


i’m excited and

hopeful for the future years.

But at this moment,


it is difficult

to imagine anything

just as beautiful.


Golden hour at Golden Gate

Recent Posts

See All

Most Annoying or Best Comedians

Here will be a collection of the things that some of my students say that makes me laugh but gets them in trouble by the real English teacher: I asked my ninth graders what month are we in. Blank star

About the Blogger

Vanessa received a Fulbright English Teaching Assistant award to Taiwan.  This blog is her own and in no way reflects the opinions of the US Department of State, US Government, Fulbright Program, or the Taiwanese Government.

Read more.

 

Join My Mailing List

© 2023 by Going Places. Proudly created with Wix.com

  • Instagram Social Icon
bottom of page