top of page

So Let Me Count the Ways

The Fulbright ETA Application process started around early August and ended in October. I wanted to give up so many times and turn in the essays; but being surrounded by friends and family, who cooked, cleaned and brought home the bacon, I had no excuses. Coming out of a service year with JVC (privilege #1), I was unemployed and living with my family (#2). Since I did not have to worry about school nor work (#3), I had all the time and energy to focus on my essays. Since I graduated from Seattle U (#4), I had editors/mentors work with me throughout the whole process (#5). I even had the chance to talk to a couple of previous Fulbright ETAs about their process and their ETA experiences (#6), which encouraged me to persevere. As the list of privileges continues to expand, I want to redirect the conversation to the modified saying of with great privilege, I have great responsibility.


After speaking with a mentor from The Krista Foundation, I realized that I need to start conversations with others about our privileges and cultural differences or "iceberg bumps" rather than avoiding the conversation or the person. I have to push against the flow, or go upstream, something that I tried doing during my JVC year with the organization itself, with others and with myself. I hope that through this virtual space, I can catch myself going with the flow and question ways to against it.



About the Blogger

Vanessa received a Fulbright English Teaching Assistant award to Taiwan.  This blog is her own and in no way reflects the opinions of the US Department of State, US Government, Fulbright Program, or the Taiwanese Government.

Read more.

 

Join My Mailing List

© 2023 by Going Places. Proudly created with Wix.com

  • Instagram Social Icon
bottom of page