top of page

When You Miss Trash Day

Updated: Aug 21, 2019

Garbage is collected almost every single day here, while recyclables are collected on two specific days. Honestly, I thought I would remember the days, but after all the information during our orientation classes, I have confused the days.


There is an app that we can download to let us know when the garbage truck comes. Obviously, I haven’t downloaded it because I don’t have wifi in the apartment yet and it’s all in Mandarin but mainly because I remember at the wrong times. So, for the past two weeks, I have been relying on the cute tune that the garbage truck plays as it goes down our street— it reminds me of the ice cream trucks back in the States. It usually comes around 6:30/6:45. As I was cleaning, I decided to put on my headphones. I needed some entertainment to keep my mind busy. The song was Solange’s 'Losing You' and, of course, I was singing along. In the background, I heard the faint sound of the garbage truck jingle. This meant it is either up the street coming towards me or around the corner past me. I decided to still give it a try. Running back to my room to grab my keys, I rushed my way out down the three flights of stairs with four bags of trash, recycle, and compost. I also had a flattened cardboard box. Sorting trash is pretty intense here compared to the States, which I appreciate because it makes me aware of how much trash I produce.


Anyhow, I swung open the front door to see that I am the only idiot with trash bags, meaning the garbage truck already left. 哎呀 (ai1 ya1)! If I was on time, I would have seen the neighborhood kids, parents and grandparents with their colorful and slightly transparent trash bags waiting in a line; it’s quite a communal thing. Still hanging onto the bit of hope that maybe I have great hearing and a bit earlier than the locals, I look up the street for the yellow garbage trucks. One is for the trash/compost and the other is for, I believe, cardboard. To be honest, I am still trying to figure it out :/ For each garbage truck, there is a person who stands in the back of the truck ensuring that we sort out our trash correctly. Here’s a link that describes what happens in nice detail: https://www.buzzworthy.com/taiwan-garbage-disposal/


There were two locals eating by the nearby restaurant who confirmed the bad news. If I was them, I would chuckle at the 外國人 (wai4 guo2 ren2) or be super awkward about it. However, I have experienced that Kinmen people are really kind and lovely. They didn’t laugh at me nor let me sit there foolishly waiting for the garbage truck, instead they went out of their way and told me that it will come tomorrow. Too embarrassed to look them in the eye, I quickly said thanks and walked back up the three flights of stairs with four bags of trash, recycle, and compost and my flattened cardboard box—my walk of shame. Luckily, no one cute was coming down the stairs!


Looking back, I wish I talked to them more to practice my Mandarin by asking them about trash days. Next time, I hope to embrace those embarrassing experiences and NOT to wear headphones when it’s trash time!

when my roommate Rachel found the garbage truck around the corner

About the Blogger

Vanessa received a Fulbright English Teaching Assistant award to Taiwan.  This blog is her own and in no way reflects the opinions of the US Department of State, US Government, Fulbright Program, or the Taiwanese Government.

Read more.

 

Join My Mailing List

© 2023 by Going Places. Proudly created with Wix.com

  • Instagram Social Icon
bottom of page